• Ways to Obtain a Work Permit at Verona Area High School

    Work permits are issued Monday - Friday from 9:00am to noon and 1:00-3:30pm at the main office of VAHS. **Summer Work Permit Hours 8:00am - 3:00pm.

    Please read this important information from the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development PRIOR to obtaining a permit. 

    Work Permit Requirements for Employment of Minors

    • A work permit is required before anyone under the age of 16 is allowed to work in any job with the exception of agriculture or domestic service work.
    • Employers must have a work permit on file for the minor being employed before they may allow the minor to begin work.
    • 16- and 17-year-old minors do NOT need to obtain a work permit prior to beginning work. Work permits will not be issued for minors ages 16 or 17.
      • State law prohibits the use of minors to perform hazardous work. Prohibited employment provisions still apply to work that 16- and 17-year-old minors can be employed to perform.
    • This law makes no changes to the requirements for minors younger than 16. Minors younger than 16 must obtain a work permit prior to beginning work unless an exception applies.
      • There are no changes to the maximum hours or times of days that minors younger than 16 may work, or the types of work that minors younger than 16 may perform.

    How to Obtain a Work Permit

    To obtain a work permit, either the minor alone or the minor and a parent must visit the permit office, taking with them:

    • the minor's birth certificate or other proof of age,
    • the minor's social security card
    • letter from the employer expressing intent to hire, on employer's regular letterhead, describing:
      • job duties,
      • hours of work
    • a written parents consent
    • a $10.00 permit fee
    • minor must be present to sign work permit documents

    Proof of Minor's Age

    We accept a duly attested birth certificate, a verified baptismal certificate, or a driver's license or photo ID card issued by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation.

    For the Employer - Permit Fee Requirement

    The employer must reimburse the $10.00 permit fee to the minor by no later than the date of the first paycheck.

    Copies of the permit go to the employer and the minor, in addition to the school district where the minor is enrolled.

    Find more information from the Department of Workforce Development.

     

    ¿Cómo puedo obtener un permiso de trabajo en la Escuela Preparatoria del Área de Verona?

    Los permisos de trabajo se emiten de lunes a viernes de 9:00 am a 12:00 pm y de 1:00 pm a 3:30 pm en la oficina principal de la VAHS.

    Lea esta información importante por parte del Departamento de Desarrollo de la Fuerza Laboral de Wisconsin ANTES de obtener un permiso.

    Requisitos del permiso de trabajo para el empleo de menores de edad

    • Se requiere un permiso de trabajo antes de que cualquier persona menor de 16 años pueda trabajar en cualquier trabajo, con la excepción de la agricultura o el servicio doméstico.
    • Los empleadores deben tener un permiso de trabajo archivado para el empleado menor de edad antes de permitir que el menor comience a trabajar.
    • Los menores de edad de 16 y 17 años NO necesitan obtener un permiso de trabajo antes de comenzar a trabajar. No se emitirán permisos de trabajo para menores de 16 o 17 años.

    o  La ley estatal prohíbe el uso de menores de edad para realizar trabajos peligrosos. Las disposiciones de empleo prohibido aún se aplican al trabajo para el que se pueda emplear a menores de 16 y 17 años.

    • Esta ley no modifica los requisitos para los menores de 16 años. Los menores de 16 años deben obtener un permiso de trabajo antes de comenzar a trabajar, a menos que se aplique una excepción.

    o  No hay cambios en las horas máximas o los tiempos de los días que pueden trabajar los menores de 16 años, o los tipos de trabajo que pueden realizar los menores de 16 años.

     Cómo obtener el permiso de trabajo

     Para obtener un permiso de trabajo, el menor de edad solo o el menor de edad y uno de sus padres deben visitar la oficina principal de la VAHS, y presentar lo siguiente:

    • certificado de nacimiento del menor u otra prueba de edad,
    • tarjeta de la seguridad social del menor
    • carta del empleador expresando la intención de contratar, en papel con membrete regular del empleador, que describa:

    o  deberes laborales,

    o  horas de trabajo,

    • consentimiento por escrito de los padres
    • pago de la cuota de permiso de $ 10.00
    • el menor debe estar presente para firmar los documentos del permiso de trabajo

     Prueba de Edad del Menor

    Podemos aceptar lo siguiente como prueba de edad de un menor:

    • licencia de operador válida o una tarjeta de identificación emitida por el Departamento de Transporte de Wisconsin
    • certificado de nacimiento debidamente autenticado
    • certificado de bautismo verificado
    • licencia de conducir o tarjeta de identificación con foto emitida por el Departamento de Transporte de Wisconsin.

    Para el Empleador – Requisito de Reembolso de la Cuota de Permiso

    El empleador debe reembolsar la tarifa del permiso de $10.00 al menor a más tardar en la fecha del primer cheque de pago.

    Las copias del permiso van al empleador y al menor, además del distrito escolar donde está inscrito el menor.

    Para más información vaya al Departamento de Desarrollo de la Fuerza Laboral.